down with the sickness 2003-07-14 6:35 p.m.


He made the flight back to his native land ok.

And somehow I feel empty... strange, very strange given our history... but maybe I am so convinced he isn't going to survive this that his being far away leaves me nothing in the end.

No closure... I suppose I'll need it then more than ever. I am a pessimist... and he's so hopeful he's a great statistic.

Take away a wanderer's ability to travel and it's like taking away his legs... and I know in turn the next few months will hurt him so much that way.

That hurts me... I guess I know in so many ways what's like to be deprived of pleasure... and though some love has been lost between us, I still love him enough to NEVER want him to go without anything... except maybe me.

This morning, blowdrying my hair, I could see him grin at the rock-star look... one eye brow raised at the transformation between wet to curly... and the ghost sound of his voice saying "wild, mate..." almost brought me low to my knees... This sort of twist to life pains me.

Friends of mine, back to their town after what they call the worst rock festival they ever part took in (there have been many)... the worst performances they've seen to date and they were hoping they could get their $159 back. *L* Not likely.

I suppose it's relative to experience... I've been to a few shows in some good places and in comparison, the show I saw Saturday night was excrutiating. But people who had never seen a show before thought it amazing.

So the rule goes... we all need a field concert once in our lives... but if your an Ozzfester... or Lallapalooza... even Another Roadsider... don't expect everything to compare to it. And... don't go for the music... *laugh* That was their first mistake.

Expect... nakedness... drunkeness... drugs... and insanity... expect the sound to be shit... the bands to be late... the weather to be TOO HOT or TOO rainy... expect to get felt up, picked up, hung onto... and in some instances, stolen... expect to pee where THOUSANDS have peed before you...

These are the things I've learned... and as irony has it... you'll be indisposed when the only good song from the shittiest band there makes the stage.

It's law... and next year, they'll know it. I mentioned taking the time off to go this year when it was on last year... and then I decided it just wasn't worth it.


previous next comments diaryland old