Bitch. 2003-07-10 5:23 p.m.


Here is my bitch... and I know I deserve this.

Doctors... Maybe they're simply a breed of their own... in this city they are HARD to come by and in this city finding a smart doctor is pretty fucking near impossible.

My current family doctor is leaving... and I never liked him LOTS but we don't really know what we have until it up and leaves... my doctor is leaving me next Thursday....

So I had an appointment with a new physian... I NEED a family doctor because I need CONTINUOUS medical care. My brain will deteriorate without it... it's FACT... in a few years time, without medical attention... I am as good as a mad cow. My blood is but poison and slowly it will make me CRAZY...

I went to see him today... to tell him this Naproxen shit isn't do anything for my hip... and to ensure that a referral for my needed leg surgery can be made... I get this:

"We need a few visits before WE decide if I will continue to be your health care provider.... to see if WE like each other..."

Is he implying that he can REFUSE to provide health care for me? It seems so... I couldn't help myself... "With that attitude, we certainly will NOT like eachother... and who is WE? YOU work for ME." As a Canadian who PAYS for her goddamned health care... I PAY FOR his fancy fucking Lexus, I don't really give a shit if he "likes" me.

Ahhhh... first impressions... on we go with the questionnaire....

"Married? Common Law? Single? Widowed? Divorced?"

No concern of his... but common law.

"Spouse's name and profession"

I smell a quick out for government survey... "This really isn't applicable to my health"

Look of his dislike is growing...

Health issues... *LOL* And the beat goes on... ah dum dadum... dah dah I started with the most serious... with the ones I want addressed immediately.... we carried on and the beety-eyed bastard had the nerve to sigh... and roll his fucking eyes!

I love health care in Alberta... "I am sorry.... am I TOO much work for you?"

"No..."

"Then sigh not."

I have a medical next week with my family doctor. He would normally, when results come in, phone in a year's request for the pill and b12.... But he's leaving... so he won't be here when my results come in... and since cancer runs like wildfire in my family... and blood tests are crucial to keeping tabs on my anemia... he won't request ANYTHING for me until my results come in. I appreciate this... this is proactive.... so beety-eye says he'll take the results... but faxing in a prescription costs $30.

"You're kidding. So I have to make an appointment to see you a few days after my tests so YOU can write and GIVE me the piece of paper I am going to take to the pharmacy anyway?"

"Yes."

"Are you paying my time missed? I am taking a morning off for the physical & blood test and then I have to take ANOTHER 2 hours later in the week to haul ass over here because you won't call in prescriptions.

"No I won't pay time missed. And yes, you will."

I wanted to tell him to fuck himself. Self-control found me.

My leg... *LOL* I explained everything... I was polite... and he says "Well, we'll see if I THINK you need that referral... later on."

I am SORRY but I have been waiting my whole LIFE for doctors to get off their asses and DO something... and my doctor finally did... but now... halted because I have to switch dumbasses...

HOW IS THIS RIGHT?!

I am convinced that doctors come to this town for MONEY and money only. Alberta pays doctors well because its residence pay for their health care... The bullshit I go through I pay a fucking premium for... That makes me angry...

So if I am PAYING for HIS services... he better SERVE me. That's how I see it...

Perhaps I am seeing it wrong... but until he pays ME for MY SERVICES I will not see it ANY OTHER way.

I am going to try to see another doctor. And if I get the same bullshit... i am going to start making noise.

I am sick of NEEDING help and getting fucked around.

It won't happen anymore.


previous next comments diaryland old