and it's over 2003-03-27 11:08 p.m.


Thank you for the birthday wishes.

My day is almost over and I might collapse before make it to our room.

I feel absolutely loved, spoiled and missed today... and with that brings a mix of emotions.

Our birthday is simply strange when I don't spend it with Mum. And though this is probably the fourth that we've spent apart, it doesn't get any less uncomfortable. Not in that respect.

And still I have a whole world on this side of the country... a family and friends it would feel strange not share this day with too... and stranger still that Blair was out of town today so in all my joy, he missed it.

I woke up to the phone ringing... I went to work to find a balloon and a black forest cake on my desk waiting for me... a few hours later a delivery girl walked up the steps with a beautiful arrangement of flowers... carnations, different types of lillies and purple irises - Love Blair. And during lunch, Blair's mum stopped by with a bouquet of birthday balloons for me.

I hadn't made any plans tonight with anyone... i wouldn't have seemed right to do anything without Mum or Blair... or family of any kind.... it's funny what traditions we get used to... traditions that are hard to break.

But after work, Blair's mum picked me up for pizza. Though she was running around trying to get ready to leave on holiday tomorrow... we managed to spend a little time together.

The rest of the evening I sat on the couch with Blair's dad watching TV, until nearly ten.

I came home to 17 voice mails and 25 happy birthday messages... it made me realize the one thing i tend to forget.

I am not typical.... in any sense, my friends, my family stretch wide... and over a fancy dinner and a loud night out, I cherish the simple, more meaningful moments in my life.


previous next comments diaryland old