insanity on the homestead 2003-03-26 7:31 p.m.


My friend's boyfriend threatened to kill her.

In the middle of an argument he said something like "If you ever go, I'll shoot you in the fucking head and burry you in the woods."

Knowing where we're from... knowing him, that hardly surprises me... doesn't even phase me. In a place where guns and hunting knives out number TVs, where assholes like him are bred simply from their environment, a threat like that in a woman's life, is to be expected and in most cases tolerated.

And probably before their son, Louzika would have tolerated it. She probably would have stayed, having no other out in sight. But this time, she called the police.

Apparently within a short time two squad cars arrived at their house, and two arrived at Tim's work. They had a warrant for his property and while he was being cuffed for his words, the cops seized every gun, knife, shovel and razor the boy owns. Anything he could have used to kill her, he no longer has in his possession and likely, never will. She packed up everything she and their son owns and they moved out with a restraining order tight behind them.

They live a couple houses down from my brother (Louzika is my brother's ex nonetheless) and apparently Tim hasn't been home since. He was arrested for battery, uttering death threats and for having unregistered guns in his home.

I can't help but roll tears in pride for her. It took huge balls for her to do that. But I know she did it mainly for her child. I really think if it was her alone, she would have stayed.

My fear is that it was only her intention to scare him, and though I am sure that was accomplished, I am afraid that she mightn't be strong enough to stick this through... But what is a girl to do? Hide for the rest of her life?

If she has to hide forever to keep her son safe sobeit, despite how hard it is.

The other view being that it was ONLY a threat, and as far as anyone knows he has never done anything prior to this that would assume him capable of killing her. So should he really be exiled from his son's life because of it?

I guess my opinion doesn't matter... I grew up with both of them and I know them both like blood... Louzika is very much a sister to me... we lived together for two years and I suppose if I had to take a side I'd be standing on hers... Though I don't see her completely innocent in this situation in the least.

She knew from the time Timmy was 12 that he's an asshole... what makes a woman love an asshole so much she'd have his child? Did she think a baby would change him?

I am a strong believer in responsibility and consequence. i am strong believer in choice... and I believe there is ALWAYS a choice. It's a matter of making the right one or suffering through the wrong. And I believe that it is a woman's concrete duty to provide love, safety and security to her children above ALL else.

So Lou made a mistake having a child with that man, she knows that, and here lies her consequence.

Hiding for now... in fear of her life... in fear for her son's... hiding now to stay safe, from a man she convinced herself she was in love with.

I say my love is unconditional, but in this circumstance, I'd have to second guess it.


previous next comments diaryland old