music men 2003-03-01 9:59 p.m.


We argued music today... talent and popularity, if they stand hand in hand or not.

They don't... not to me... talent separates one from the majority... talent renders one unique...

That definition slashes most of pop music... most modern rock and much of hip hop... my apologies.

Nickleback... though popular... lacks a sound of its own. The band shares it with Default, Creed and the Foo Fighters... who all, poorly so at that, mimic the father bands of grunge-rock... Nirvana, Soundgarden and Pearl Jam.

And so, he defends his thought by saying the Hip lack talent because they lack American popularity.... Ummm maybe, but probably not. A Tragically Hip song cannot be confused with any other stale American want-to-be band. They have a sound uniquely Gord.... separating them from the vast majority.

Our Lady Peace, Rage Against the Machine, Great Big Sea, Carlos Santana, The Beatles, Neil Young, Led Zep. You cannot confuse these talents with anything other than with themselves.

I miss good music.... music that means something...

I miss the Rolling Stones in the days of Angie.... the Black Crowes when they were shaking money makers.... Page and Plant together when they were the travellers of both time and space....

It's amazing how music can define someone... how it is memory... how it is exactly what you're looking for when you need it.

I don't breathe music the way that I used to... it's not a constant anymore and it's time again that it should be.

And I guess a genuine sound is important to me.


previous next comments diaryland old