one two three 2003-02-19 9:49 p.m.


I have so many things to decide on... many things I need to get done all at once and I haven't the opportunity at one time to get them done.

Surgery.... a birthday weekend away (though not far) and going home. I get two weeks holiday... and I get grace for falling apart - I take a fair amount of sick time and no one says a word.... I don't want to abuse that, and I like the idea of frequent raises... as it seems to be of late.

I've thought of only taking one week to go home and the other week for surgery. But tell me, is five working days really enough of a visit when I haven't seen my family in three years? I say no.

It isn't fair for me to take my two weeks to go home and more time before or after for surgery... leaving Shannon alone to cover for me... she wouldn't mind - but I would.

And so for all this I don't really want to ask for time to run away for my birthday. That seems to offend my boyfriend. He doesn't see it my way... doesn't think I take much sick time... doesn't think I don't deserve it... doesn't want to spend my birthday 500 kms apart.

And I understand it, but I have to weigh priority right now... and my birthday isn't a huge deal to me.

I am not spending it with Mum anyway and it's with her whom I should be.

Why couldn't we put a hold on the birthday and celebrate it sometime May in Old Quebec maybe?

I don't know why simple things have to be difficult. I don't know why when it's obvious I have a hard time figuring out one thing, that I must figure out three...

It's all on hold until I see the surgeon anyway and find out just how mutalated his going to make me.

Maybe I shouldn't think too much about any of it until then.


previous next comments diaryland old