ties that bind 2003-01-02 1:19 p.m.


I had a conversation at length today with a friend that is constantly thinking. He's a good thinker... a smart thinker and striving always to see something new... of all things I appreciate that most about him.

Today's thought... how kindness goes a long way... how bonds that are broken need to be retied to make it in the world today...

How some people make themselves futile by assuming someone is one thing in lack of word or knowledge...

But the reality is we are all contected by six degrees of separation... I can trace myself to Charlie Chaplin in three.

And we have at least four things in common with every person we pass... whether it be where we're walkin to what our eye colour is... everyone is worthy or our time and our kindness.

Yet some people hide in a world they fear is judgemental... when it seems those are the VERY same people who don't know the meaning of the word. Judgement isn't based on not knowing, but rather on the fact and evidence presented before someone. It's almost commical how that works...

Gone are the days of free opinion without being one of many things... gone are the days when a hurt child can walk up to a strange woman and be safe. Gone are the days where friends come and they stay.

He asked how I make friends... and truthfully, I am not sure how I do... I am easily approachable and I approach, I guess... I remember things that are important to them.... I talk to them... I smile... I see far beyond the exterior... and I keep them close forever.

I know that I am lucky to have a huge network of people who deeply care for me... I know that I am lucky that every love that has passed my lips still cares enough to call every once in a while. I know that no matter what foes fall in our way that every friend I have today will be a friend always.

Where do we learn this, or not though? what makes one person more receptive than another? maybe it's in our genes... maybe if our mother is still close to those she grew up with, we will be too... maybe those are the ties that bind and never get loose.

Perhaps it's maturity... perhaps it's human nature... perhaps some people just care naturally... and others find a good excuse not to.

And you?


previous next comments diaryland old