Leopard coat 2002-12-23 10:31 p.m.


It's amazing how song reminds me of you... and how you show yourself in the midst of my remembering...like you know somehow that I am quivering.

Every Christmas you write or call me when you get to Jamaica... every year you tell me about Heaven on Earth and ask me if I'll join you for a Christmas drink with my back on the sand and my feet in the green.... every year I say I'll be there... and every year, I am not.

And each time you visit there you decide you're going to stay...

I think we've spent too much of our lives together on our knees.... I think if you want stay this time... stay. I think if the beach and the sand will make you happy - happy, Baby, you should be. I think it really has very little to do with me.

I think deep down you know you'll never go and stay for good... you like your little life too much for that... you like your airport job and fancy car.... you like your home and the Wainwrights. You like everything you've fought for... and everything you have not.

I know you... I know you'll be back...

There isn't an island more Tropical than Montr�al.

~Dontcha worry... Mama's gonna make you look good...~


previous next comments diaryland old