Gold stars... and curls 2002-05-31 10:08 p.m.


I graduated from high school five years ago yesterday... and this day, then, was prom.

A day flooded with memories... just not the memories a girl would want. The child in me was dying... and falling hard as her days went on.

I cried for two days straight.

Change was weighing on me... the responsibility of one boy's future... the wound of forgiveness in it's most primative form... and mostly... the distance between my life and it's silence...

I always believed I had it in me to stand up for my strength... until it was taken away. I had a lot of promises challeneged and in turn couldn't keep... promises to myself, mostly.

Pieces of it were wonderful... i spent the night with some of the greatest people I know... people I still talk to and love completely.

Asleep on the couch with Chris... one of our last moments together... had I known then, i would have cherished it better.

Fear and wonder... sadness... change...

Five years... I've come a long way.

Amanda and the infamous head.
May 31,1997


previous next comments diaryland old