We've had time 2002-05-28 9:43 p.m.


I know you write me... and I never answer... I know you want to call sometimes, and just breathe.

I know you think I don't hear you in all your glory... in all your saddness. But I do.

Time away from your illusions is what you need to break free of me.

I am not angry anymore about our past... about the unthoughtful things we might have done to the other. i am not angry at you for any of it... and I forgave myself.

I know there are times when your words can't go ignored.

Despite the rocks and shattered glass between us... you are a masterpiece of a man.

You know there are some wars that will never be won... no matter how strong you standing holding a gun... fate isn't yours to play with... you do what you can... and then you have to let it go...

You have this will to fight when no one else can.. when no one else wants to... one of the things I admire about you... one of the things that made me keep things from you. My past is just another piece of life you can't fight.

You didn't fail anyone my friend... I know you... how impossible that is.

I know you fought long and you fought hard. I know you didn't eat or sleep much... I know you probably spent much of the last while a meditative state...

I know that strength.

I remember what drives you to do as you do...

I know that when that boy grows up... he'll remember the only one on his side when he was hurting... was you.

That's a huge accomplishment... don't you think?

~how can I go home with nothing to say... when I know you're going to look at me that way.. You'll say "What did you do out there? What did you decide? You said you need time.... You had time."~

We all need time...

Words I didn't write.... but say all those things I should have said... when.


previous next comments diaryland old