Gifts 2002-03-21 10:44 p.m.


Sincerity says everything when words just can't.

I have people who have been close to me since birth... other than family... I have friends who just know me... inside and out... I forget that too often.

I should just feel them when I am lost and often I don't.

Today i got two pacakges from one my best friends... she's a former military girl.. who quit to work as a civilian on a base in Bosnia... So I have seen her four times in the last five years... I haven't seen her easily in two...

She's been traveling... making me green with envy... all the places I have wanted to see... she has been.

I opened the pacakages... a pair of authentic "sabots" (The english word... exactly, I don't know... wooden shoes, you know)... made and bought in Holland... along with a HUGE Sunflowers print - Vincent van Gogh... From the Vincent van Gogh Museum, Amsterdam.

If they were birthday gifts, Nickey, i am sorry... six days is TOO long to wait... But I LOVE them.... I loved them so much I sad alone on the edge of my bed and held back tears... happy tears, tears that said I miss you. And then I called Mum to share the tears with her...

Sometimes the ones you love are just too far away to hug. And some days... a phone isn't close enough.


previous next comments diaryland old