The Knight Falls 2002-02-02 3:51 p.m.


Again fate took someone I know from this world... robbed him blind of life at less than 40 years old.

I know the road has been rough... I know the last while was the hardest bit of life you have ever lived, and I pray now that you find peace, comfort and happiness.

You put up an incredible fight. A world of friends will be crying tonight at our loss... I being one.

I have very fond memories of you... of being a little girl playing at your farm with the goats. I loved it there. Anticipation used to eat at me - the thought of biking up the road... knocking on your door and having you walk me hand in hand to the pasture where they played.

I grew up seeing things in you I wish now I had not seen... learning that even very good men make big life mistakes... and sometimes those mistakes cost them everything.

In those losses... you never lost my respect... I took you for who are... i trusted you because you earned my trust as a child... and you were a family friend... a good friend... a kind friend to us all.

You know people talk about the things they think you have done... and in your life and in your death... that will always be wrong. They didn't know your value... they didn't know your soul...

Rest well, Duncan...

I'll remember you in fondness always...

May my love and respect stay with you, wherever your soul may go.


previous next comments diaryland old